Posted in prose, Uncategorized

Have you ever awoken and realized that the world is far more vast than the tiny space you occupy? That your radius – that the people you know and the things you do are only a small brush across the surface?

Do you ever wake up and realize that if you didn’t wake up, nothing would really change?

Life is such an odd thing to consider. We give it such credit, regard it as powerful and infinite, and unyielding.

We do this because in truth it is small and brief and precious.

When I was little my parents had the most beautiful garden. Every summer my father would be working on it, and I would run through the flowering bushes chasing plump bumblebees as they miraculously floated from flower to flower with all the presence and proportion of dandelion fluff on the wind.

Come fall, all the flowers would begin to wilt and wither.

Come fall, there were no bumblebees anymore.

With the frost of winter all the world would ice over and there would be nothing left in our garden but the frail, blackened branches – a reminder of what was but wasn’t any longer.

This world we live in, it i not reliant on us. No, we are reliant on it. The universe would keep existing, even if life were no longer there to observe and comment on its existence.

Just as the rotting tree in the forest still falls even if there is no one there to hear it, so too does this world exist beside us and separate from us.

We pat ourselves on the back and congratulate our species for just being. ‘We are here, now, and that’s all that really matters’.

We are here now, and that is good enough.

I awaken, and I go about my day. I eat breakfast and go to work and live this meager life of mine which is undoubtedly shared by others. I wake up, and I live a life like yours.

And even though it is no grand adventure.

Even though sometimes it feels as if I am not the hero of this, my own story, I know that mine is a life worth living.

I awaken and I think to myself: ‘I am here, and that is enough.’

Author:

Life is a strange state of being, if you could even call it that. It's honestly quite a bit larger than I expected. I am not very good at introductions, so I suppose I will start with a generic hello. I am Mi_Chan, or, at least, that is one of the many names the people closest to me call me by. I created this website back in high school for a creative writing class, and have found it to be a good place to store away my thoughts. I enjoy writing poetry and short stories, and am currently working on a novel.

Leave a Reply

